Agenda 2030 and national statistical offices

The UN Sustainable Development Goals

Figure 1: Logo of the SDGs
Figure 1: One logo of the SDGs

The Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development is a global United Nations action plan for the planet, people and their prosperity. It has been adopted by the UN General Assembly in September 2015. The Agenda 2030 of the United Nations is a roadmap for sustainable transformation of society, economy and environment by 2030. The Agenda 2030 contains 17 global goals divided into 169 targets with over 240 indicators. The goals are called Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) (Figure 1).

Reviewing the goal achievement

The UN Statistical Commission was assigned to develop global indicators for the targets together with the national statistical offices. The mandated „Inter-agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators” (IAEG-SDGs) continuously edits and regularly presents a set of indicators for this purpose. The IAEG-SDGs consists of statistical offices of 27 UN member states, including Germany represented by the Federal Statistical Office.

National Reporting about sustainable development

The Federal Statistical Office coordinates and publishes the national data for Germany to the SDG indicators.

In July 2019, the Federal Statistical Office released this national reporting platform for indicators to the Sustainable Development Goals. On this platform, time series and related metadata regarding Germany in the light of the global sustainable development are presented in an edited and interactive way. Now the SDG-section of this platform enables the responsible Custodian Agencies and the interested public to directly download data for single SDG indicators and use them for their global reporting.